top of page

December Darlings

Clean makeup with Mountain Beauty Collective

When you have acne-prone skin, new makeup can be scary. Like, really scary. I have to be very careful with what I put on my skin or else I may end up with some ugly pimples showing up on my face.

Over the last year, I have been diligent about replacing items in our home with more natural products. Cleaning products were easy to start with but makeup was a bit more daunting. With sensitive, acne-prone skin, I had been using makeup to cover up previous scars and give me a more flawless finish but honestly, the ingredients in those products were pretty scary, not to mention I couldn't pronounce them! Once I looked them up on the Think Dirty app, I couldn't believe how many ingredients in my makeup were carcinogenic, toxic and truly horrifying to think about my two children getting near my face with these products on them!

When Britt from Mountain Beauty Collective, (also the owner of Made of Mountains) contacted me and asked me if I would try out Dew Skin from Beauty Counter, I was hopeful but also I have been let down by so many natural makeup companies that I had my reservations. I had heard rave reviews about just about everything from Beauty Counter and honestly, Dew Skin did not let me down! (And don't just take my word, head to the website and read the thousands of positive reviews!)

I wanted to give it a fair shot, so I stopped using my other foundation and used Dew Skin exclusively for a month and am ready to tell you why I love it so much and would highly recommend it. It is a lightweight tinted moisturizer with SPF 20. Something I love about it is that it is not greasy! This is HUGE if you already have oily skin. I was worried about this as every other tinted moisturizer I've tried is just too greasy for my oily skin. This would absolutely work for every skin type- dry to oily.

Dew Skin also has the best coverage on a tinted moisturizer, it is perfect for every day use! Since you know, I get almost no sleep at night, I do like to add concealer over this for a bit of extra coverage for those bags under my eyes and any blemishes too.

Wearing Dew Skin in No. 2 and Made of Mountains *new* Mtn Mama shirt

Beauty Counter products are free of over 1,500 questionable or harmful ingredients. Unfortunately, the United States has very few ingredients that they actually have banned and companies like Beauty Counter and Mountain Beauty Collective that are paving the way for other companies to stand up against these extremely harmful ingredients. They are free of phthalates, propylene glycol, SLS's, triclosan and they do NOT test on animals! Besides the fact that this product is free of all those harmful and toxic ingredients, it works. I promise you will love it and it will feel comfortable on your skin.

It has been almost a month since I started using Dew Skin as my main base, and my skin is clearer, brighter and it has noticeably firmed my skin too. It has a lovely scent from the black currant and peony flower root extract. Natural and absolutely not fragranced with fake ingredients! I haven't had any significant breakouts other than some hormonal ones not due to this tinted moisturizer.

And a little goes a long ways! You won't need to use very much and this will last you most likely a few months (maybe more!) Just one more reason I am loving Dew Skin.

Head on over to Mountain Beauty Collective and find a consultant and ask any questions you may have and you can purchase directly from the link on their Instagram or website. Their Instagram is chock full of tips, tricks and facts for you to read. I highly recommend checking it out.

What about other products that would go with Dew Skin for your routine? Next on my list is Tint Skin Hydrating Foundation for days I'd like a bit more coverage and their Sheer Lipstick in Twig or Terra.

If you have tried Beauty Counter, what are your favorite products? I'd love to know!

Here's some more photos..

and Mtn Mama Pocket Tee from Made of Mtns

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page