top of page

December Darlings

I don't have a "good baby" and why I'm okay with that

Once the baby has arrived, it seems like everyone, and I do mean, everyone starts asking you "is he a good baby?" or my favorite "does he sleep through the night?"

 

Now, moms, please don't get me wrong, if you have one of those babes who loves sleep, I am not trying to make you feel bad! You should be happy and brag about your sleeping one, it's a huge blessing! But I am writing to those who look at me with sad eyes and saying they feel so sorry and bad for us. The worst is when folks just start to dole out that unwarranted sleep training advice..

Hey, I get it.

Moms' more than most, need our sleep, me included. But it is something I expected when we became pregnant the second time- our children just don't sleep very well and that's okay.

A little back story for you. Reagan, who is now 4 years old, was quite possibly, the worst sleeper, ever! She wouldn't nap unless she was nursing and attached to me and I would park it in my glider when it was her bedtime. Literally, I would kiss my husband good night and take her and my giant cup of water and know I would be sleeping in that chair all night long. It went on for months and months, until we decided to gently sleep train her. I was a zombie, living on hardly any sleep. So, in the area of sleep in our household, it's definitely a luxury, not something I just expect every night. I can afford to miss out on sleep because I am accustomed to such little from my firstborn!

hey buddy, I feel you. Momma is tired too.

I am here to tell you that it will get better.

Eventually.

It might not be easy and it might seem like you are the only one dealing with this. But, I promise you, you are not. (You are more than welcome to email me anytime and I will empathize with you over sleepless nights!)

Now, I am sure you are curious how Riley is doing nowadays? Whelp, honestly, the last couple months have been rough. Like, newborn baby, rough. He wakes up about 2-3 times per night to nurse. I know he is teething and in pain, but that doesn't make it any easier on me.

Thankfully, he takes consistent naps during the day, so I can rest my eyes a but while he sleeps. I still have to be there for Reagan! She needs me so much these days and I don't want her to feel neglected!

As the saying goes, "The days are long, but the years are short." Truly, this couldn't be more true. I know, in ten, fifteen years, I will long for these days. The snuggles will come to an end. I won't be woken up every hour. And I will miss it.

So, for now, I will continue to drink my coffee to help me get through these long days and I will try to cherish these fleeting moments.

What about you, fellow momma? Are you in the throws of sleepless nights too? I'd love to hear how you are doing and if anything is helping you!

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page